Districts in Sikkim

Lachung , Zero Point , Yumthang Valley

Lachung , Zero Point , Yumthang Valley. Photo Credit @ lame.doodle

Sikkim is divided into four districts geographically – East, West, North, and South. They are further divided into several smaller subdivisions.

1. East Sikkim

East Sikkim is the most populous part of the state. The capital of this district is Gangtok, which is also the state capital. East Sikkim is easily the most happening district of the state, as well as the hub of all administrative and economic activities. But other than the buzz of the capital city, East Sikkim is also home to the beautiful Tsongmo Lake, a number of monasteries including the famous Rumtek Monastery, Himalayan Zoological Park, Tashi View Point, and the sensational Nathu La Pass and Baba Mandir.

2. West Sikkim

West Sikkim offers a combination of rich history and exquisite trekking locations. The capital of the district is Geyzing or Gyalshing. Pelling and Yuksom are the other important towns here to visit. Yuksom is the place where the very first Chogyal of Sikkim was consecrated way back in 1642 and the first monasteries of Sikkim, Dubdi, and Sanga Choling, were established. Yuksom remained the capital of the Namgyal dynasty for 50 years before it shifted to Rabtense.

Khecheopalri Lake, Tashiding Monastery, and Pemayangtse Monastery are popular tourist destinations of the district. West Sikkim is also home to parts of the Khangchendzonga National Park, the rest of which falls in North Sikkim. The presence of the protected forests offers up several mind-blowing trekking trails here for the adventurous, such as the Varsey Rhododendron trek, Goecha La trek, Yuksom Dzongri trek, and Kanchenjunga Falls trek.

3. North Sikkim

North Sikkim is the largest of the four districts of the state. Mangan is the district headquarter and also the most populous part of North Sikkim. Due to the sharing of sensitive borders with China, the district is heavily patrolled by the Indian Army. Entry to tourists is restricted in most areas and only allowed by authorized permits. Despite the obstacles, North Sikkim is one of the most visited zones due to its abundant beauty. The district is home to part of Khangchendzonga National Park and the Shingba Wildlife Sanctuary. The landscape features lush green fields and throngs of wildflowers, including rhododendron. Yumthang, Gurudongmar Lake, Crow’s Lake, Tso Lhamo Lake, Zemu Glacier, Lachung Monastery, Phodong Monastery, and Zero Point are some of the exciting destinations to explore in North Sikkim.

4. South Sikkim

South Sikkim is the smallest of the districts. It is the most industrialized one as well, owing to the availability of flat and stable land. The headquarters is located at Namchi. Ravangla, Jorethang, and Melli are the other major towns of the district. The district is known for Sikkim Tea grown extensively at Temi Tea Garden. Located near Namchi is the Samdruptse Hill, which is the site of the 135 feet tall statue of Sikkim’s patron saint Guru Padmasambhava. Other places to visit are Tathagata Tsal Buddha Park, Char Dham Temple, New Ralang Monastery, and the twin hills of Tendong and Maenam which are of mythological importance to Lepcha and Bhutia people.

Stay Updated!

Be the first one to read the latest post. Don't miss out the best Travel guides and tips every month.